Learning letters of the alphabet

Yesterday I was making T a cushion for his bedroom and wanted to appliqué a letter T onto the front. Whilst looking on the internet for templates for the letter I ended up printing out the whole alphabet capitalised.

I showed it to T who was very good in saying the alphabet and following the printed sheets. I was surprised as I knew he was good at numbers but he’s struggled with his letters in the past.

Today whilst out shopping I found a great little game called “Spell it Out” by Chad Valley. It cost me £1.29 in a charity shop. Basically there are all the letters of the alphabet made of cardboard and shaped into jigsaw type pieces, as well as pictures of simple words.

20140217-142409.jpg

This afternoon we spent time playing with the game. I set out all the letters in order of the alphabet and T got to choose a picture. We then talked about the picture – practising the word and then I asked him what letter the word the picture was showing began with. We then spelled out the word with T finding each letter in turn. When each word was complete I made a massive fuss and we did high fives and clapping. He loved this and was happy to do more words.

What I found that Ts ability to say letters is improving greatly and his recognition of letters and ability to choose them is also really good. A great little game which I think we will use a bit more over this half term break.

20140217-142906.jpg

20140217-142916.jpg

20140217-142923.jpg size-full” />

Leave a Reply

